Top Ten Classics I Need To Read This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Some of these are modern classics, or children’s classics, or feminist staples. One way or another they are classics that sound interesting enough for me to want to read them with actual enthusiasm, rather than “just because they are classics”.

  1. We by Yevgeny Zamyatin – I love 1984 by George Orwell (and dystopia stories in general) and this book is said to have inspired Orwell’s. Plus, it is Russian Literature, which is something I never read before. I already bought it and it is fairly short, so I should come to read it soon.
  2. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Another classical dystopia and about burning books. I love books that discuss the importance of books, so this one is on my list, for sure.
  3. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – And yet another classical dystopia. This is one is more of a fake utopia situation, which sounds really interesting. As in, is living life in a perfect way really all that good?
  4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – To be perfectly honest, I am not sure what this one is about. I know it is about high school (I think?) it has been mentioned on certain books that I have also loved, and it won a Pulitzer in 1961.
  5. The Princess Bride by William Goldman – I love the film adaptation of this and I just need to read the story that inspired it!
  6. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – This is a non-fiction classic, set in World War II. I used to be about weary about historical novels (fiction or no), but after reading The Book Thief, I am more open to it. Those are such important stories to experience. I just know this is going to make me really sad, though.
  7. Matilda by Roald Dahl – Can I be honest? Up until a few months ago I didn’t even know that films like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Matilda where actually book adaptations. It sounds pretty dumb, but since I live in Brazil, this books weren’t really a part of my childhood. I loved Matilda and really want to read the story now!
  8. The Color Purple by Alice Walker – This is about women of color, written by a woman of color (the first African-American woman to win a Pulitzer Prize for fiction – in 1983). Again, another important story to understand other cultures a little better.
  9. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – When I first read the synopsis for this one I thought it was the scariest thing ever. A world in the future where women are only valued for their capacity to give birth and can’t even learn how to read? Despite being terrified, this is clearly a feminist book and I’ve been hearing great things about Atwood, so I’d like to start reading her works.
  10. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – Another feminist classic, and this one contains poetry, which is something else I’ve been looking to read more of.

So what were your Top Ten this week? Have you read any of the books I mentioned or are interested in them as well? Which one should I read next?

Leave a Reply

