Top Ten Books I’d Love to Read If I Had A Book Club (Adult)

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

These are some adult books I think would be great to have discussions about with a book club. I need to read them!

  1. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson – Mystery, complicated main characters and exploring themes of abuse and human trafficking. I actually read the second one of this trilogy because I received it as a gift, without ever having read the first, and I’ve see the movie. So I really need to get on that. A book club would help!
  2. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – another one with mystery and dark themes that would be perfect for discussion.
  3. The Magicians by Lev Grossman – magical university and unlikable main characters? Let’s do this!
  4. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami – I’m not entirely sure what this one is about, but it seems to have some complex themes and it is literary fiction, so it’s great for an adult book club!
  5. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng – a book about family dynamics, with mystery and it’s historical fiction. It seems like it would be a lot to talk about.
  6. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – Gotta have your polemic books, right? I’ve been interested in this one, but kind of afraid to read it. It would be good to have some help.
  7. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – I love time travel and this is a book that deal with the consequences of it on everyday life. It’s a lot to consider. Another book club ideal.
  8. The Storied Life of AJ Firky by Gabrielle Zevin – a book about books! And love and transformations! Let’s read it!
  9. The Ocean at The End of The Lane by Neil Gaiman – I want to be a little blind for this one, but I know it’s about stories and it is dark. Sounds like something worth reading with others.
  10. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – Last years Pulitzer winner is a chunker. I want to, but I’m not sure I could read it on my own.

What about you? Have you read and recommend any of these books? What are the books you would like to read with your book club? Link me to your lists!

Leave a Reply

